« »

Read Books Like The World Is Ending

Library Cards Prove You're Human in the Zombie Apocalypse Sign

What’s your end of world scenario? I mean, the dead are coming back to life, local services are non-existent, food is scarce, medicines are scarcer…

It may be a touch morbid to consider such a crazy disaster (and such an unlikely one) but I know my first stop would be to grab some library books. Why? ‘Cause who knows how long electricity is going to hold out and I certainly know there’s some information I’d want access to once Google goes down.

What books are on my hit list? Well, I suppose it depends on what I need. So, I’ll just run down my book selection as if it was the hierarchy of needs. Survival first – then the fun stuff!

How to Survive the End of the World As We Know It

If you just need a run down of all sorts of survival skills, don’t forget to grab James Wesley’s How to Survive the End of the World as We Know It. This gem is fantastic because it covers both in-town and wilderness survival techniques as well as assuming that the normal functions of our universe have fizzled to nothing. If you want to know how to rig up a water filter or how to raise an emu (yeah, you read that right), then go no further! This book will definitely cover your needs!

 

Survival Wisdom & Know-How

If you’re traveling light, you might not want the Survival Wisdom & Know-How book because it is a chunker. Still, if you want something that’ll step you through cleaning a fish or making a raft or recognizing poisonous snakes, you can’t do better than this book. Sure, it isn’t every day you need to know how to peel out in a kayak or navigate through the wilderness by starlight or preserve your one pot wilderness meal so it’ll last days and weeks on end! Still, IT IS THE END OF THE WORLD, so you’d best grab this book from the library just to be safe.

 

Mend it Better

And, now that the local Forever 21 is run over by the undead plague, you’ll have to make sure your clothing lasts longer. Just ’cause the world has ended doesn’t mean you can’t be stylish. With a little help from the Mend It Better: Creative Patching, Darning, and Stitching book, you can still be the most fashionable person in the Apocalypse and, when the clothing supply starts to dwindle, you’ll have all the skills you need to make a pretty awesome post-world career. I bet you could trade a sweater for food once the winter sets in!

 

Zombie Survival Guide coverI feel silly even mentioning Max Brooks’ Zombie Survival Guide here but, in case you didn’t know, there’s a book that’ll walk you through a lot of the ins and outs of the world’s end. Don’t skip the classics in your mad dash through the survival books!

And, yes, of course, you need some stellar books … you know for entertainment … so, click the link and check out any of these awesome zombie books so you can know just how much worse it could be!

 

Comments are closed.