Teen Awards Page

ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults (BFYA) [top]

Every year a committee of youth service librarians and teachers selects a top ten list of the most riveting books of the year.

Alex Award [top]

The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) picks a number of books published for adultsbut with great young adult appeal. The Alex Award is given to the best of the best.

Great Graphic Novels [top]

YALSA reviews the years best graphic novels and comics. For ages 12-18, this list recommends some of the most unique and interesting graphic novels on the market.

Margaret A. Edwards Award [top]

The Margaret A. Edwards Award honors an author’s lifetime contribution to literature for teens.

Michael L. Printz Award [top]

YALSA awards the most quality fiction for ages 14-18 with the Michael L. Printz award.

Schneider Family Book Award [top]

The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers [top]

If you have a child or student that says they don’t like to read, try one of YALSA’s quick picks for reluctant readers. These books have great appeal to those that just are into reading…but still need to pick up a book!

Teens Top Ten [top]

Every year teens across America vote and choose the Teens Top Ten awards for Teen Read Month in October.

William C. Morris YA Debut Award [top]

The William C. Morris YA Debut Award honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

Coretta Scott King Award [top]

Given to African American authors and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society.

National Book Award (Young People’s Literature) [top]

A group of publishers first sponsored the National Book Awards to honor outstanding American literature. After over 60 years, the award is still one of the highest honors an author can achieve.

Newbery Medal [top]

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Pura Belpre Award [top]

The award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Siebert Medal [top]

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational (or non-fiction) book published in the United States in English during the preceding year.