Library History
The Haverhill Public Library was established in 1873 in an agreement between wealthy industrialist E.J.M. Hale and the City of Haverhill.  The agreement stipulated that Mr. Hale would donate land for a building site and half the money necessary to build and furnish a library if the people of Haverhill would donate the other half.  He further stipulated that the City, in accepting this gift, would establish a self-perpetuating Board of Trustees and assume responsibility for the annual operating expenses of the library.  The original library building opened on November 18, 1875.  In 1965 the Trustees decided to build a new library facility to replace the original building.  With pledges from the community, proceeds from the sale of the original building, a federal library construction grant, and the fundraising efforts of the Trustees, construction began in 1966 and the new library opened in June of 1969.  A subsequent renovation project, completed in 1997, increased space for materials, seating, and overall size from 30,500 to 44,000 square feet.

The Haverhill Public Library is governed by a seven-member self-perpetuating Board of Trustees.  The City is responsible for funding the maintenance of library facilities and staff salaries.  As the owners in trust of the library, the Trustees are responsible for ensuring that the City lives up to its part of the agreement, as well as for providing library facilities and an annual appropriation of funds for the purchase of library materials.  Ultimately, the library’s Board of Trustees is responsible for the library, its facilities and services, policies and procedures.   Since the library’s inception, a priority of the Board of Trustees has been the development of a Library Endowment, the interest from which is used to purchase materials and to supplement the City of Haverhill budget for the Library.

The Board of Trustees meets on the third Thursday of each month at 8:30 a.m. in the Donald C. Freeman Whittier Room on the second floor of the Library. Standing committees include Building and Grounds, Finance, and Library. Please email the Board of Trustees with questions, concerns and suggestions.

Meeting Minutes

Past meeting minutes are available here 

Library Director: Sarah Moser

Board of Trustees